The October Book Challenge

Okay, so as tomorrow is October, I want to introduce you to…

THE OCTOBER BOOK CHALLENGE!!

This basically is taking the challenge of reading one book per week for every week in October. I’d first heard of this last year when youtuber Carrie Fletcher (ItsWayPastMyBedtime) posted a video about it. When I heard of it, I immediately decided I wanted to try it, slightly because I’m a huge fan of Carrie, mainly because I hear the word challenge and I’m immediately sent back in time to when I was four and the word challenge was me against my brother with a kiddies board game. So last year I managed to complete the challenge, even with a load of stuff happening at the same time, applying for uni and my brother getting married etc. etc.. 

So this year I decided I’d try again and this time I’d do some more ‘complex’ books if you will. So without further ado, here is the challenges I set myself for October 2013 and their blurbs:

  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green and David Leviathan: 1st October – 8th

Will Grayson, meet Will Grayson. 

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers cross paths. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, culminating in a heroic turns-of-heart and the most epic musical ever to grace the high-school stage.

will grayson

  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak: 8th October – 15th

This is the tale of the Book Thief, as narrated by Death. 

And when Death tells a story, you really have to listen.

Its just a small story really, about, amongst other things:

A girl

An Accordionist

Some Fanatical Germans

A Jewish Fist Fighter

And Quite A Lot Of Thievery.

the book thief

  • The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkein: 15th – 22nd

This is the story of how a Baggins had an adventure and found himself doing and saying things altogether unexpected.

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole is Bag End. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day, to whisk him away on a journey ‘there and back again’. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon.

the hobbit

  • Jamaica Inn – Daphne Du Maurier: 22nd – 29th

Her mother’s dying request takes Mary Yellin on a sad journey across the bleak moorland of Cornwall to reach Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. With the coachman’s warning echoing in her memory, Mary arrives at a dismal place to find Patience a changed woman, cowering from her overbearing husband, Joss Merlyn.

Affected by the inn’s brooding power, Mary is thwarted in her intention to reform her aunt and unwillingly drawn into the dark deeds of Joss and his accomplices. And, as she struggles with events beyond her control, Mary is thrown by her feelings for a man she dare not trust.

the jamaica inn

 

Now you guys are welcome to try this challenge, there’s nothing in it except the feeling of something being accomplished. You don’t have to choose the same books as me, I chose these as I thought they would be a challenge and I can’t wait to start! Feel free to post your thoughts or your choices in the comments below :) If you have chosen the same books you’re welcome to post what you thought of them in the comments or leave a few recommendations.

Have fun you guys and remember! Reading is a privilege and a hobby!!

Happy Reading!

What are your thoughts?

