Top Ten

80’s Movie Day!

Sorry about the lack of post yesterday, but for those who want to know, it was my birthday yesterday. My nineteenth. Its official, I’m an almost-twenty-year-old. And if that isn’t enough to make me feel old, I realised that Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone came out in 2001, I was seven years old. I remember being really scared when Voldemort came out of that turban thing, I had to hide behind my Dad’s arm.

So I’m not going to lie, I woke up at twenty to seven yesterday morning because I was excited. I decided however I couldn’t wake up my parents at that time because it wouldn’t be fair. So I woken them up at 7.55. My dad had bought me a vintage musical jewellery box and my mom had bought me a set of Tarot cards which I have begun to learn to read and have made a pouch for today.

Today, I had a free day, my mom and dad went over to see my aunt, so I spent my day watching 80’s films. It’s at this point I’m going to give you my top ten 80’s films

  • The Karate Kid (1984) – Officially the first 80’s film I watched, mainly because it was my brother’s favourite film when he was younger. A coming-of-age film about a New-York teenager who’s moves to California and find it hard to fit in with the pampered beach-kids.

“Man who catch fly with chopstick accomplish anything” – Mr Miyagi

  • The Little Mermaid (1989) – Going with a Disney Classic here. A young mermaid wishes she could visit the world above her ocean home because she is in love with a Handsome Human Prince. Lovable animated movie with the voice talent of  Jodie Benson

“The Seaweed is always greener, in somebody else’s lake” – Sebastian the Crab

  • Back to the Future (1985) – An absolute classic! Definitely one of the favourites and must be on everyone’s movie bucket list. Perhaps the most iconic movie series of the 80’s, featuring Michael J. Fox as Marty McFly and Christopher Lloyd as Doc Brown, the eccentric, white-haired inventor who manages to transform a regular DeLorean into a time travelling car, which accidentally takes the teen back thirty years where he becomes the romantic interest of his teenage mother. Best scene of the movie is Johnny Be Good

“The way I see it, if you’re gonna build a time machine into a car, why not do it with some style?” Doc Emmet Brown

  • Romancing the Stone (1984) – Billed as an action-adventure-romantic-comedy starring Micheal Douglas, Kathleen Turner and Danny DeVito. A lot of laughs with adventures including a treasure map, antique smugglers, romance, emeralds, an a pair of very snazzy crocodile boots.

“One hell of a morning has turned into a bitch of a day!” Jack Coulton

  • E.T. (1982) – Another absolute classic, starring a very little Drew Barrymore. A young boy finds a lost Alien in his back garden, and while nursing him back to health with the help of his siblings begins to bond with the creature and forming a friendship that lasts between worlds.

“You could be happy here, I could take care of you. I wouldn’t let anybody hurt you. We could grow up together, E.T” Elliot

  • The Goonies (1985) – The story of a group of friends who find a map leading to the lost treasure of pirate, One-Eyed-Willie, in order to save the Walsh brothers from moving away from their friends. Another one with some familiar faces, such as Sean Astin (Lord of the Rings) and Josh Brolin, as young people.

“Goonies never say die!” Mikey Walsh

  • Uncle Buck (1989) – A family comedy starring Macaulay Culkin and John Candy. Slobbish bachelor, Buck, is forced into watching his brother’s teenage daughter, and two younger siblings for a week while they are away. Of course, as Buck navigates his way through suburban life he often embarrasses his niece. But of course the message at the end of this film is, no matter how different you are, family is family.

“My Uncle was microwaving our socks and the dog threw up on the couch for an hour… because he couldn’t get the Goddamn washing machine to work” – Maisy Russell

  • Dirty Dancing (1987) – It’s the summer of 1963 and Baby Houseman is off on Holiday to Kellerman’s Holiday Camp with her family. Baby has her life planned out before her, but all her plans seem unimportant when she meets the tall, dark and mysteriously handsome dance instructor Johnny Castle.

“Nobody puts Baby in the corner!” – Johnny Castle

  • Short Circuit (1986) – Another science fiction comedy film, a robot, struck by lightning and believes he is alive. Taking on the name Johnny-Five he goes on to prove the military he was created for, he has consciousness.

“Not malfunction, Stephanie. Number Five alive!” – Number Five

  • The Princess Bride (1985) – Okay, so this is my all time favourite film, hence why it is the last one in my list (I saved the best until last). The film is a story within a story. A grandfather reads his grandson the book his father used to read to him when he was sick. The Greatest Tale of True Love and High Adventure, It follows the story of Buttercup who, although she is in love with someone else, is marrying Prince Humperdinck in a few days, yet on the day of her engagement, she is kidnapped and someone seems to be starting a war between Florin and Guilder. Quite a lot of stars are in this one, Carey Elwes and Robin Wright are the principal characters, with performances from Mandy Patinkin (Homeland), Billy Crystal (Monsters inc.) and Wallace Shawn (Toy Story) to name but a few.

“Never go against a Sicilian, when death in on  the line!” Vizzini

So there you have it. My top ten 80’s films. Already I’m in a better mood for writing them out to share with people. Although now I do actually want to watch them all. Could I do it all in one go? I could try. I tell you what my mission in life is. One day watch every single Harry Potter films one after the other in one go. I’d probably be up all day and night, but what the hell. I’d do it.

Happy Reading

2 thoughts on “80’s Movie Day!

What are your thoughts?

