Top Ten

“We’re all misfits here”

“We’re all misfits here” – Welcome to Boarderton, Teri Windling

It seems to me that so many people try and be ‘in-with-the-popular-crowd’ that we forget to be ourselves and forget to be wonderfully weird in our own way. The reason I think of this because tomorrow I have an interview at a school, its a school up the road from me, but not the one I went to myself. It just made me think that between the years of 11 and 15 I was not a very happy person. I myself was guilty of the very same thing I am complaining about.

You see in my school, the years 7 to 10 you had to wear full school uniform, jumpers, shirts, tie, trousers/skirt but in the last year we were allowed to wear “office-wear” which basically entailed of black trousers, white shirt and black jumper/cardigan and it was this year that I found myself more able to express myself. I don’t know why, but perhaps it was the loss of the tie.

But this got me thinking, to other peoples (mainly in books and a little from films) that have a hard time “fitting in” with the popular crowd and some that decide to simply not bother. And so, without further ado, my top ten “misfits”:

hermione

  • Hermione Granger (Harry Potter series) – A bit of a obvious one here, but still, Hermione Granger resonates with anyone who is a bit ‘bookish’ as J.K. Rowling puts it. But was is beautiful is the fact that through the books and films we have watched Hermione grow from an awkward little sapling with frizzy hair and buck-teeth into a beautiful flower who has the courage stay with her best friend when he needed her instead of running off in to the night with the love of her life.
  • BeastlyLindy Owen (Beastly) – Now here I’m not talking about the movie, I’m talking about the book that inspired the movie. The whole point of this book was the fact that Lindy was NOT the type of girl that Kyle/Adrian should have gone with.  In the beginning of the book, she is described as having red hair, green eyes and  rooked teeth but he slowly sees past that and falls in love with her. The thing I love about Lindy however is her passion and feeling for her books. I can relate to that.

Rumors-_A_Luxe_Novel

  • Diana Holland (the Luxe Series) – This series is all about a select group of socialites and people of the ‘Lower-Society’ at the turn of the twentieth century. Diana is a member of the socialites because of the fame of her sister. However, Diana make a conscious decision not to get tied up with the socialite gossip, and again is seen with her nose buried in a book, she appears to be ‘above’ the social stereotypes the people set her, and ultimately it is this that makes her famous in her own right.
  • severed heads broken heartsEzra Faulkner (Severed Heads, Broken Hearts) – It has occured to me that this list has consisted of only women, so I’d like to get a guy in before I forget. Now this is the book I mentioned in my a previous blog post. Ezra was once part of the ‘popular crowd’ and after an almost fatal car crash, he is forced (by his own hand) to be on the outside looking in but finds himself reconnecting with his previous life before he became popular and finds fellow misfit, Cassidy Thorpe.

will grayson

  • Will Grayson (Will Grayson, Will Grayson) – So, here I can’t decide who I think is more of a misfit, Will or will, so I think I’ll put them both in the same place. The story follows the story of two boys both called Will Grayson who meet one night in Chiago. The first Will is described as someone who would love to fade into the background, but this is hindered by the fact that his best friend is very outlandish. The other will grayson is a boy who just floats through life without anything to really cling onto apart from an online relationship.
  • jane eyreJane Eyre (Jane Eyre) – Gone right back in time now, to my latest favourite classic. This one is because Jane doesn’t have anything good happen to her for a long time, she is traumatised by her aunt and cousins and sent off to boarding school where she was bullied by the headmaster. She finally begins to start her own life after teaching at the school for two years after leaving and decides to become a governess.

billy and me

  • Sophie (Billy and Me) – Sophie May is the one girl who doesn’t dream of having a famous boyfriend, yet when a the latest Mr Darcy in a string of Pride and Prejudice film turns up everyday in her cafe, she can’t help but fall in love with him. There is a reason why she doesn’t want to be in the limelight which adds to reason why she is a misfit. Yet still as she takes a leap of faith, living with Billy, she can’t help but feel like she is out of place when it comes to his type of work.
  • loving dannyNaomi (Loving Danny) – This is a character that hits me on a personal level. Naomi is on her gap year, living back and home while her friends are travelling the world or still at university. The book is written like Naomi is having a chat and telling her friend her story. She makes the point that all the significant things in your life happen when you least expect it, in her case when she left her mobile phone on the 29 bus route. She is restless while she is on her gap year and I couldn’t help but wonder whether she was in love with Danny or in love with the idea of him.

Steve_Rogers-4

  • Steve Rodgers (Captain America/Avengers Assemble) – Being a bit of a fangirl here. I’m putting him in two films because I feel he is a  isfit in both of these. In Captain America, he is a small skinny lad who dreams of defending his country in the Second World War. But when he gets his dream of being in the Army it isn’t exactly how he pictured it. Yet in Avengers Assemble he is at a bit of a lost end because he has no idea where he is or how to fit in because he has woken up almost sixty years after he fell asleep. But somehow he befriends Tony and somehow comes into his own. (Okay so the picture is mainly for my benefit. I’m a bit in love with Chris Evans)
  • shailene-woodley-hazel-graceHazel Grace (The Fault in Ours Stars) – And here we go, Hazel Grace Lancaster a young girl of sixteen when reading her story has a voice beyond her years. The reason for this is because  Hazel has been battling cancer since she was thirteen years old. When her mother convinces her to go to therapy designed at teenagers, she finds an almost perfect match for her dry sense of her humour in tall, dark and handsome Augustus Waters. However reading the book, I almost forgot that Hazel had cancer, the way she reads is like a regular healthy teenager falling in love for the first time.

So there was my top-ten misfits, I hope perhaps maybe you take a little page from my book and read one of my suggested misfits.

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

