Uncategorized

Catfishing

As previously stated, I am a massive fan of Catfish: the TV Show which is on MTV Monday nights and you can catch the reruns pretty much all the time. (hence the addiction). But when i first looked up the definition of a “Catfish” it got me thinking. This is what I found:

a “catfish” is a person who creates fake personal profiles on social media sites—pretending to be someone more outwardly appealing than his/her true self

Now, I don’t mean to be insulting to anyone, but I have a question. The internet is full of people who “want to express themselves” this is what we do, through Facebook, Twitter, back in the old days of MySpace and Chatrooms and even blogs. We post things so that our friends know what we are up to. Or that is the idea. But… And here is my question…

are we all Catfish?

Everyone creates a new identity on the internet, because more often than not the things people would post would be super and totally boring (please don’t say this about me!).

I’m pretty sure that at one point or another in all of your lives you have felt self-conscious and very aware of your imperfections. And if you had the choice to invent someone who looked exactly like you, but had the self awareness of Posh Spice, wouldn’t you take it? Because I would. Its no secret that I was uncomfortable in my skin while I was at school (previously stated). I was very aware of my self and how awkward I was, I felt like I was born in the wrong time and i didn’t really belong.

And the social media, like Facebook and twitter allowed me to create a more confident version of me. If you have done a similar thing then you will know that sooner or later you think: “What the Hell!” and act like your alter ego. Because the truth of the matter is… Who cares if you act a fool when your out in public? What are the chances that you will ever bump into someone on the street ever again, or if they even remember you? So you remember every person who was on your bus or train this morning? No. Why should anyone else.

So i think, as long as your not hurting anyone or stringing them along or being dodgy, why shouldn’t you create an online alter ego?

Here’s to the Facebook Confidence Complex

Happy Reading

 

 

What are your thoughts?

