Books / Review

“When death captures me,” the boy vowed, “he will feel my fist in his face.”

The Book Thief by Mark Zusak. A heartbreaking-ly beautiful tale of the power of words when they mean the most. The story, is of Leisl Meminger, as told by death. Death has met Leisl three times. And twice, she walked away from him. This is a really powerful book that can make you snort with laughter and sob with tears in the same sentence.

This book really is a credit to Zusak, I am pleased that it found its way to me. It really made me think about how much books, and words inside them, can mean to someone who has nothing. I am glad that I chose this book as part of my October Challenge. I really feel like this book spoke to me and its not very often I have felt like that about a book of the genre. I’ll even admit that when I finished it this morning, I held it to me and hugged it. It is by far my new favourite book.

Zusak style of writing in this novel spoke to me too. The narrator has a very dry sense of humour, but very respectful of the people he “helps” shall we say, and though they appear to be detached from the world of humans, I can help but feel that they care very deeply for the characters in this book.

It is interesting however, how when reading the book, Zusak never really states whether Death is male or female. Yet while I was reading, I imagined Death as a man. Not as the grim reaper and sickle man that is stereotypical of death, but as a youngish man with a wise face and prematurely grey hair.

Al together, as I said, I was glad this book found me. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good story, which is why I’m recommending it to you.

On yo the Hobbit this week. Wish me Luck!

Happy Reading

One thought on ““When death captures me,” the boy vowed, “he will feel my fist in his face.”

  1. Pingback: Holocaust Memorial Day | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

