Uncategorized

It’s a Bewitched Day

bewitched

I’ve mentioned before that most of my life I’ve felt like I was born in the wrong time and I should have been born in either the 50’s or the 80’s. If any of you stepped into my bedroom and looked at my DVD collection, I’m sure you would agree. My shelves are jam-packed full of eighties films, and TV series from the 50’s.

I’m sure all of you have heard of ‘Bewitched‘. Mainly you may have heard of Bewitched because of the film starring Will Ferrell and Nicole Kidman. But I’m talking about the TV series, with Elizabeth Montgomery as the beautiful blonde housewife/witch Samantha Stephens and Dick York (1964–1969) and later Dick Sargent (1969–1972) as the lovable, if slightly bumbling, mortal husband. Despite differences of the expectations of women during the time this was set and indeed filmed, Samantha and Darrin have the epitome of a loving relationship, apart from the fact that Darrin doesn’t like the fact that Samantha can use magic to get her out of (or get Darrin into) sticky situations.

But even as a little girl I’m sure everything single one of you wanted to reenact that scene from Mary Poppins where the children snap their fingers and their toys march back into the holding place. Just ad I’m sure pretty much all of you, young or old, childless or up to the elbows in children’s messes would love to just wiggle your nose and have the house clean its self up. No matter how old you get you never stop wishing life could be that simple, I’m sure. Just as I know that no matter how old I’ll get I will never stop believing that someone like Samantha Stephens really exists.

There is just something to be said about the way the television crackles when you put in an old movie, non of this remastered nonsense. You want to watch and old movie and part of the experience is the voices with that muffled faraway voice that has a warm place in your heart and you welcome like an old friend. Whether your heart broken, tired, happy, ill or just plain bored the old things will put a smile on your face, even if it just for sheer nostalgia. I watch Bewitched on cold, rainy days (which is pretty often in the lowest town in England) curled up on the sofa under the duvet with my favourite cuddly toy, and a mug of hot chocolate, and as soon as the theme song runs, I’m back to being a kid and watching it with my Mum on Saturday mornings while she brushed my hair and I ate cocoa pops. And no matter how many times I have watched the episode, I still giggle to myself when confused Aunt Clara has somehow managed to transform Darrin into a frog.

I was in love with the show so much I’m pretty sure I named all my dolls Samantha when I was about eight.

 

So my recommendation is if you haven’t watched Bewitched, you must watch it!

 

 

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

