Books

My first Book Haul…

Hey Guys

So I’m trying something new on here, please let me know what you think of it and anything else you would want to see from me. This post is my first ever book haul. I went to a small little bookshop with my friend on Saturday morning to buy a few books. Bearing in mind that my bookshelf has actually broke from all the books on it. I also told my friend I wouldn’t be buying alot of books because I haven’t got alot of room. I was shocked at how many books this fella had got! And I’m sorry to say that I didn’t stick to my plan.

I may have gone a little over board but here we go. I tried to sort them into groups, but most of them were very different to each other.

Classics

WP_20141005_003 (1)WP_20141005_002WP_20141005_005

From the Earth to the Moon By Jules Verne

I own the previous two and the cover was absolutely gorgeous.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

I’ve seen all of the films of this but I’ve never read the book, so there we go.

Br’er Rabbit’s a Rascal by Enid Blyton

This book I had when I was little and it was one of my favourites, it was a collection of short stories about Br’er Rabbit and the trouble he gets into. I thought my nephew might enjoy the stories when he’s a bit older.

 

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

WP_20141005_006 (1)

 

I know I call myself British, but I have never seen this film. I’ve always wanted to, and when I saw the book in the shop, I thought I’ll read the book and that will push me to watch the film.

 

A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Sparks

WP_20141005_008

 

I’ve seen the film and also read a few others by him so this seemed like the next book to read from him.

 

Chick-Lit

WP_20141005_009

Where Rainbows End and A Place Called Here by Cecilia Ahern.

I’ve read P.S. I love you and liked that, also Where Rainbows End is going to made into a film, so I would like to read that before I see it. A Place Called Here was recommended by my friend.

 

Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan.

I have read Rosie Hopkins Sweetshop of Dreams and the Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris and loved them.

 

A Hopeless Romantic by Harriet Evans.

It looked like a very good read and the front cover looks absolutely beautiful. I havent heard of this author before, so if I enjoy it I will look for more.

 

WP_20141005_010 (1)

 

The Perfect Christmas by Georgie Carter and the Gift by Cecelia Ahern

. I love Christmas books, they make me so happy and get me ready for Christmas, so these will definitely be late November and December books.

 

WP_20141005_011 (1)

Life, Death and Vanilla Slices by Jenny Eclair.

Another recommendation by my friend and it looks absolutely hilarious. I love Jenny Eclair’s comedy so I look forward to see whether her book is as funny as she is.

 

 

WP_20141005_013 (1)

 

The Palace of Stranger Girls by Sallie Day.

This is a historial fiction set in the fifties. I like historical ficition, and I love the fifties. Plus the book is set in Blackpool, which is perhaps one of my favourite places in Britian. It looks likes a fun read.

 

WP_20141005_014

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch.

Yet another reccomendation, but from alot of book blogs and vlogs, and friends. Loads of people have been raving about this, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

 

WP_20141005_015 (1)

 

The Winter Ghosts by Kate Mosse.

I love Kate Mosse, I absolutely adored Labrynth, although it was a bit of a long read. This doesn’t look as long but still follows her tradition of following two stories in different times. Plus the front cover was very pretty.

 

WP_20141005_017 (1)

Why Men Don’t Listen & Women Can’t Read Maps by Allan and Barbara Pease.

This was a spur of the moment buy, I saw it and it looked hilarious, and as soon as I’d seen it I had to know the answer. Its not a fictional book, more of a self help, I think. So I will let you know.

 

WP_20141005_018 (1)

Echo

This is  the second installment of the Soul Seekers series by Alyson Noel. I have read the first two books in the Immortals series, and it really got me mad and I know it was a fantasy novel, but the character was just so unbelievable, I couldn’t continue with the series. The first installment of this series was really good and I hope the second one will also be as good.

 

WP_20141005_020 (1)

 

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler.

This has been cropping up in my Amazon Recommendations, slowly working its way up to number one. It looks a really good book and I look forward to reading it.

 

WP_20141005_022 (1)

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North.

This was another spur of the moment buy, and I fell in love with the synopsis on the back. The front cover is also very interesting, this is another that I look forward to reading.

 

 

Please let me know what you thought of this post, and let me know whether I should do more like this.

Happy Reading

One thought on “My first Book Haul…

  1. Pingback: May Book Haul | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

