Books / Review

Charlotte Gray – Sebastian Faulks

Week one hasn’t gone very well if I’m honest. I was hoping this book would be alot more than what it was. If that makes any sense.

Lets start with the overall writing. There is a lot of description in this novel, the first chapter is 7 pages of description of a flight. For a novel set during the war its quite boring. I have read other books in a similar genre. I think the problem for me was the amount of description that has nothing to do with the story and nothing being learned.

“Ian Watson had been brought up in Scotland and had played golf since the age of five; the irritation of the game and all its frivolous trickery were natural to him. In front of the green was a magnetic little brook, but he found it easy enough to land his second on the welcoming green behind.”

I’m sorry but I don’t want to know about a side characters background.

The back of the book states that Charlotte Gray is in France looking for lost Airman lover, yet it isn’t until a hundred pages in that he goes missing. And I’m sorry but their whole relationship is a bit rushed. I understand that during the time that this was set everyone was all about seizing the moment, but you can’t fall in love with someone after spending a few hours in their company. I think thus was the another one of the main reasons I couldn’t get into it, I just couldn’t connect with Charlotte as a person, maybe because if the character or maybe because the description got in the way of me getting to know her.

Unfortunately I did not enjoy this read as much as I would have liked to and I was disappointed in it. Sorry Mr Faulks, but this just didn’t grip me. Maybe I need to read more, but I will have to finish it when I have time to read endless amounts of diacriotion. I will let you know my revised view of the book when I have finished it.

Bring on next week

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

