Fun / Tags

The Reader Problems Book Tag

I have not heard of this one before, but I really enjoyed the questions, I was tagged by the lovely The Bookie Monsters, who listens to most of my rants about my problems as a reader. I tag Finding Myself in Wonderland

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

When I go out and buy a load of books, I put into order the books I want to read immediately and organise it by that. 

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Like The Bookie Monsters, I can’t just quit a book. Unless I am really struggling with it, or I am quite offended by the writing, I will persevere for as long as I can, but if I can’t I will leave it for a few weeks and come back.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

No, because I didn’t really understand how the challenges worked on Goodreads when I made it. Also, reading is supposed to be a pleasure not a challenge. I like reading at my own leisure and if I want to stay up all night to finish a book, I can. If I want to have a break from reading for a while, I can.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I don’t.

I’m like

wthbs

I will search the internet for hours and hours and hours to find the right cover. This happened to me recently with Artemis Fowl, I am not ashamed to say that I spent five hours finding the last two books with the right covers and have given the links to my mom on my christmas list.

If I can’t find the old covers, I will give away my old books and buy the whole new set.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

The Bookie Monster. I sometimes have to contact her while I am reading the book to tell her my opinion and when I finish it I have to call her to tell her how I feel about it.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I try try and find a tissue and wipe my tears away on the sly. I don’t cry out loud, but I don’t really cry out loud in general.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book?

I do try. If I know the date the book is coming out I will arrange my reading schedule to accompany the two books.

8. You do not want anyone – ANYONE – borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people no when they ask?

hhlun

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

I do sometimes have to take a break from reading. I will leave it for a couple of days and binge watch Netflix during the day and revisit an old favourite to read at night before I go to bed.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I try to be really good and wait a few weeks or months when they have gone down in price, or people will have donated them to second hand bookshops when they are like 20 or 50p and buy loads of them.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

A while, I’d say. But really its only a couple of months while I catch up.

2 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Book Tag

What are your thoughts?

