Fun / Tags

The Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

I was tagged by the lovely Bookie Monsters to do this tag, which I have actually heard of! Yay! When I read my friends answers I actually found it really exciting and I couldn’t wait to get started. So here we go!

 • Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it

WP_20150117_006

I have chosen Zizou Corder who wrote Lion Boy. I;ve heard its a series, but I only had the one book which I enjoyed reading. It was about a boy who had some feline blood mixed with his own and now has the ability to speak to cats.

• Find a classicWP_20150117_008

I actually have a shelf dedicated to Classics, but I have decided on Black Beauty, which was my favourite as a child. I used to have an absolute beautiful copy of this book that was bought by grandparents, but I leant it to my cousin who still hasn’t returned it, which is now why I don’t lend out my favourite books to people I don’t trust. But I loved the story so much I bought it from a charity shop to replace the lost one

WP_20150117_007

 •Find a book with a key on it

At the amount of books I own, I cannot believe that I don’t own a book with an actual key on it, so I’ve had to go Metaphorical here, and chosen the first Spiderwick Chronicle’s book, as they are reading the Spiderwick Field guide, which is kind of like the key to the world they knew nothing about.

WP_20150117_009

 •Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book

WP_20150117_010

Anyone who knows me know that I have a bit of an obsession with micro pigs. So when I saw this tiny little Pig when I was about fifteen, I just had to have it. It sits pride and place on my shelf guarding my books.

 • Find the oldest book on your shelf

WP_20150117_014I actually recently found this book in my Aunt recently old house. We were packing up her things and I saw this book and she gave it to me. If you look really closely on the first page it says it was given in the year 1891. I think that is pretty old, don’t you?

WP_20150117_015

Find a book with a girl on the cover

WP_20150117_018

I chose The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets, I do like the look of the girl on the cover, it is shame is so dull.

 • Find a book with a Boy on the Cover

I tried to this out of the box on this one, my first thought was of course Harry Potter, but then I remembered my third favourite series as a kid, a Series of Unfortunate Events, this is Book the Fourth, the Miserable Mill. I think I will reread these soon as its been ages.

WP_20150117_054

 •Find a book that has an animal in it

For this one, I chose Charlotte’s Web because it has a pig in it. That is all.

WP_20150117_013

 • Find a book with a male protagonist

WP_20150117_022

Well there could be some question whether Artemis Fowl is a Protagonist or an Antagontist, but I always liked it very much because he wasn’t perfect.

 • Find a book with only words on it

This one has literally just words on it. If you look at the background you’ll find that it is made up of words.

It is 500 Words You Should Know

WP_20150117_019

 •Find a book with illustrations in it

I love books with illustrations in, and I do actually have a few, but this one is definately my favourite. The illustrations are beautiful, both in black and white and in colour. Its also my favourite story, the Wind in the Willows.WP_20150117_052 WP_20150117_051

WP_20150117_053

 • Find a book with gold lettering

This was given to me just yesterday by my Nan, who knows how I feel about old books, and not only does it have gold lettering, but it also has gold leaf on the sides

WP_20150117_027

 • Find a diary (true or fictional)

I actually found my old diary on my bookshelf, from the year 2008 when I was 13/14. It was a Mates, Dates one, which I loved at that time. and I thought I’d treat you to some entries.

WP_20150117_028

10 January I really actually missed Ryan today! I got a 5B in Drama! I had no-one with me, as Ryan was at that track a hurricane thing! I got a 5B Yay! *Claps* best day ever… oh poo I’m writing in the wrong day! Its meant to be on the next page! Sorry!

14 April: I hate school! But it went well fast! We didn’t do anything in History! And I did all my work in Science. Hehe. I am a square, totally! I edited my website and now I’m in bed. I had a staring match with Jon in History and was an agony aunt! Ha! g2g cya 2moz

1 June: Hey! White Rabbits, white rabbits, white rabbits!

18 July: I hate Myself! OMG! Ryan gave me a lift! I didn’t see him! ERGH!

Obviously now I am twenty, I do know some other punctuation marks other than the exlaimation marks.

 • Find a book written by someone with a common name (like Smith)

I actually found a book written by a Smith, L.J Smith who wrote the Vampire Diaries.WP_20150117_034

 • Find a book that has a closeup of something on it

This is very close up of an eye. It makes me feel awkward looking at the front.

WP_20150117_038

 • Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period

Well this one was written about the area where I live and the local legends that surround it. It is based one two children who go through the Eye of the Wrekin and end up in Roman times.

WP_20150117_040

• Find a hardcover book without a jacket

This was another gift from my aunt, I haven’t read it yet, but I really want to start.

WP_20150117_042

 • Find a teal/turquoise coloured book

I read this book a while ago and I remember thinking how absolutely mental the title was, and how ridiculous the end of the story was as well. Its Severed Head, Broken Hearts by Robyn Schneider.

WP_20150117_043

 • Find a book with stars on it

This was one of the first books I bought and its still one of my favourite stories, and I read it to my one year old nephew now and he loves it.

WP_20150117_057

 • Find a non-YA book

As you know I am a bit of a history geek, and one of my favourite subjects in D-Day in World War 2, last summer I went to the site of the landings and I learned and saw so much. This book is one of the stories that I learned while I was there, and its definately a reccomendation to anyone who wants to feel proud to be British! (Exlaimation mark there, uh-oh)

WP_20150117_046

 • Find the Longest Book you Own

This one was a Christmas Present from my brother, and it does have some of the Grimm stories that aren’t in my Folio book as there are 200 extra pages in it. I was shocked to see that is actually has 846 pages in it.

WP_20150117_048

 • Find the shortest book you own

This was my first ever book bought for me, my parents claim it was because I screamed for it. I just think I saw it was Nick Sharratt and had a premonition that he would illustrate most of my childhood. This is 22 pages long, but its got about five words on each page.

WP_20150117_056

 • Find a book with Multiple PoVs

Okay so this may be another stretcher, because technically they are the same person, BUT the story splits into two different alternatives when Bea slips at her wedding. In one life she gets up and carries on, in the other she runs away. The books switches and swaps between the two stories, so its kind of like a different PoV.

WP_20150117_045

 • Find a Shiny Book

Its Smilers Fair by Rebecca Levene look how shiny the moon is!

WP_20150117_055

 • Find a book with Flowers on it

Okay so its Flower Confetti, but I didn’t have anything else apart from the Twilight Saga New Moon… So I went with Amanda’s Wedding by Jenny Colgan.

WP_20141029_001

Well I hope you enjoyed my Scavenger Hunt. I tag anyone who wants to do, be sure to leave  link below so I can check it out.

Happy Reading

7 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

  1. Pingback: The Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt – LiteraryFuzz

What are your thoughts?

