The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Book Club: January

THE MONSTER GODDESS BOOK CLUB

the book thief

Hello

Welcome to the first review from the Monster Goddess Book Club, a collaboration between myself and the Bookie Monsters. This months theme was ‘Read a Book with the word Book in the Title’ so we read the Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This is the third time I’ve read it, and the story is still just a moving and unforgettable.

This month has gone so incredibly slowly, and it doesn’t help that I’ve gone nearly a month and a half with no pay, and I haven’t really been very bookish this month, I’m probably depressed after the Christmas highs have now dampened, although I do still have a chocolate Santa to eat.

A pair of train guards. A pair of grave diggers. When it came down to it, one of them called the shots. The other did what he was told. The question is, what if the other is a lot more than one?

My favourite quote in the book.

The Book Thief is such a great book to help you get back into the swing of things, especially when you’ve read it before and it’s an old favourite, its like spending a Sunday afternoon with family. My favourite character is Max, I love how all of the time he spent in the basement he didn’t complain once, even when he was poorly, and how kind he was to Liesel. He treated her like a sister and she felt she had someone to confide in, and that was important.

Like The Bookie Monster, my favourite parts are the illustrations. I prefer to drawings in ‘The Standover Man’ but I love the story of ‘The Word Shaker’.

BeFunky_the-book-thief-001.jpg

When I was a child my favourite film was the Neverending Story 2 and one of the quotes that has stayed with me from that movie is

Books change each time you read them

And I think that means you can always find a sentence or a page that you don’t remember reading before and it gives you a new found respect for the story or for a character. This time I read it, I found Mama to be a lot more relatable, she may be strict and have an odd way of showing her feelings, but you know that she really did love Liesel, and Papa, and even Max once she stopped seeing him as someone who was eating her food.

It was great to re-read this book, and I can’t wait to read next month, which will be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

One thought on “The Monster Goddess Book Club: January

  1. Pingback: January in Review and Coming Up… | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

