The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Book Club – February

THE MONSTER GODDESS BOOK CLUB

Another re-read again for me this month, the second in the Monster Goddess Book Club. I bought this book last year, and read it within a week, the story stuck with me as I myself feel alot like Cath. Although I don’t have a twin sister, I do have a best friend whom I often find myself comparing myself to… does that make sense?

InstagramCapture_0692a862-5841-4287-be24-90e58d0504eb

I remember being so wrapped up in Harry Potter that I couldn’t get enough, I confess I wrote fanfiction when I was younger, maybe not to the extent of Cather Avery with her Simon Snow series, who is somewhat famous on her FanFixx.net website (which doesn’t exsist, I’m sad to say), but I remember being so upset when Harry Potter came to an end, I looked online for hours and hours other versions of the end of the era that was Potter.  Though I’ve never had a problem with creating my own worlds and characters, I do understand what it was that Cath found so frustrating:

“When I’m writing my own stuff, it’s like swimming upstream. Or… falling down a cliff and grabbing at branches, trying to invent the branches as I fall.”

Reading this book, I couldn’t help but compare myself to Cath, I have always been the quiet one, the one who would prefer to stay in reading/writing than going out and getting drunk. I found myself worrying along side of her about her Dad and her sister, who both seem to be going off the rails, just a little bit. Reagan, I found hilarious. Inside I think I am a Reagan. I shall now start saying to myself “WWRD – What Would Reagan Do?” When I’m being shouted at the phone, “WWRD”. When people cut me up on the road “WWRD”

I love this book, it is definitely one of my favourite reads. Not because its profound or it changed my life, but I look at this book and these characters and I see myself, and I see my friends. It was an easy read that I flew through and thoroughly enjoyed. I think I will be reading it again, for sure.

As ever you can find myself and the Bookie Monster’s reading habbits at the following links:

The Book Goddess on Good Reads

The Bookie Monsters on Good Reads

Theme for next month: First in a series

Our Choice: Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Happy Reading

One thought on “The Monster Goddess Book Club – February

  1. Pingback: February in Review and Coming this month… | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

