The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Book Club – March

This month hasn’t been great for me if I’m honest. I’ve had a lot going on and unfortunately that means that reading and blogging have had to take a back seat. That being said, I did try and read this book, and I’m sorry to say that I didn’t enjoy it.

I haven’t managed to finish it, if I’m honest. I started the book on the first of March and by the seventh, I had had to re-read what little I had read. I found it very confusing, it was like I would read five pages and go three pages back to remember what had happened. I also found the characters unbelievable and annoying. I don’t believe that Peter would believe Nightingale as quickly as he did, because I’m not being funny, if someone came up to me and said “I believe you interviewed a ghost because I’m a wizard” I’d ask them what kind of drugs they were on because let me in on that action.

I also had a problem with the writing. It seems the author has had a problem distinguishing between first and third person in this narration. It is told from Peter’s point of view, but no one of this century speaks like that. At some points it felt like it was a reference book with the amount of discription that didn’t tell me anything.

I was a bit disapointed, but you can’t enjoy every read.

Something tells me that next month will be more enjoyable.  As always you will be able to find my lovely friends opinion on her blog here.  And you will be able to find our goodreads here:

The Book Goddess

The Bookie Monsters

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_CoverTheme for next month: Revisit a Childhood Favourite

Our Choice: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Thank you and see you soon

Happy Reading

One thought on “The Monster Goddess Book Club – March

  1. Pingback: The Monster Goddess Book Club: March Review | The Bookie Monsters

What are your thoughts?

