Review

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

WP_20150404_002

I really enjoyed this book. It is the third of Smith’s that I have read, and each one has been touching and heart warming. The Geography of You and Me follows two people, Lucy and Owen, two people who really never would have met, let alone become friends, if fate or destiny hadn’t forced them together.  They meet in a lift as the whole of New York City loses its power. For a few hours it is almost as if they are the only people left on the planet, so they get talking.

I really loved the main characters, Lucy with her sarcastic ways and her tendency to not hold back was something I admired, and Owen’s relationship with his father had me both smiling and tearful. I found them both realistic, meaning they had their flaws and they accepted them.

The only people I couldn’t get on with were Lucy’s parents. They were incredibly selfish for parents of three children, often upping and swanning off to some foreign country and leaving their teenage daughter alone, in New York City and only sending her a post card. The fact that Lucy found it normal made me feel very sad, as I couldn’t bear to be away from my mother longer than a week at the age of 16. Mainly because she did my washing and I would have no clean clothes, but still.

All in all though I found it a very enjoyable read and I look forward to reading more from Smith.

Happy Reading

4 thoughts on “The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

    • Thanks for the comment, I would definitely recommend this one! I have read This Is What Happy Looks Like, and I really enjoyed that too, it was really cute. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is another of hers I really enjoyed, that was really cute as well 🙂

  1. Pingback: Top Ten | Books of 2015 | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

