Review

Blue Sun, Yellow Sky by Jamie Hoang

bsys

Disclaimer: This book was provided free of charge by the Author, this does not affect my views in any way.

What would you do if your livelihood and dreams were being taken away from you and there was nothing you could do?

That is the question that faces our protagonist, Aubrey. Award-winning artist, Aubrey has just opened her gallery and made peace with an old friend she left behind when she moved to LA, she has also been given eight weeks before Aubrey will lose her sight forever. Enter Jeff, her childhood friend who she hasn’t seen in nearly ten years who offers her a trip of a lifetime: A trip around the world in around six weeks or so.

I loved this story, I loved how Aubrey seemed to push her diagnosis to the back of her mind while she was on this trip while allowing it out at certain moments. It definitely had me reading with a lump in my throat, especially when Aubrey visits the Great Wall and picks a song from her iPod, so she will remember what she saw and felt whenever she hears that song, and when she describes her fading images. It was a lovely story and definitely made me think about what I would do if the same thing were going to happen me.

The only qualms I had with this book was the character of Jeff. I found him really annoying, he asked Aubrey to go on this journey with him and he spends most of the time on his laptop or pining after his ex fiance, and whenever Aubrey would try and talk to him about the trip he would just ignore her or ask her to speak to him later. I get that he is developing this new app, but the word workaholic comes to mind.

All in all it was a very good book and if you’re looking for a book of self discovery, this is definitly the one.

Thank you to Jamie for providing me with a review copy.

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

