The Monster Goddess Book Club

Monster Goddess Book Club – April

THE MONSTER GODDESS BOOK CLUB

Another month, another book with the Monster Goddess Book Club in collaboration with The Bookie Monsters. There of course is still time to join us for the rest of the year. Next month’s theme is ‘Reread a book you didn’t get on with first time around’ so we are reading Twilight, you can either read the book along with us, or choose one of your own.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

“He couldn’t know that at this very moment, people meeting in secret all over the country were holding up their glasses and saying in hushed voices: “To Harry Potter – the boy who lived!”

The Theme was revisit a book from your childhood and it was a bit of a no brainer to choose Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, another re-read and it definitely brought me back to my childhood. Although it did make me a little bit sad as I remembered everything I was going through when I read it the first time, I remembered my dad sitting on my bed reading out loud, doing all of the voices. Like the Bookie Monsters, it made me want to re-read the rest of the Harry Potter books.

Despite it being obviously magical, I think the reason why the Harry Potter franchise was so successful was because the characters were relatable and real. Sure, we don’t have magic wands, pet owls, ride on broomsticks or go to school on a train we caught from a magic platform, but at some point or another Harry Potter resonated with us on a personal level. Maybe you felt like no-one in the world wanted you, or maybe you came from a big family and were overlooked one too many times, or maybe (raises hand here) your hair is ridiculously frizzy.

It was great to revisit my childhood in such a vivid way, I just wish that I could read the books for the first time again.

Now before I leave you:

I would like to say a few words. And here they are: Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!

As ever you will be able to follow our progress on Goodreads

twilightThe Bookie Monsters

The Book Goddess

See you next month when we will be reading what has been described as one of the most romatic stories since Titanic…

And if you want a sneak peak, our June theme is Read a Fairytale with a Twist, so we are reading Grimm’s Fairy Tales.

What are your thoughts?

