Review

Its a Charmed Life

DSCN0163

This may contain spoilers if you haven’t see the last series of Charmed!

It has now been almost nine years since the last episode of Charmed aired on our television screens and over 17 since the first episode aired. Its strange to think that this was such a big part of my life for those eight years. I remember watching them on a Friday night on Channel Five when I used to stay over at my Grandparents’.  I remember watching Phoebe’s wedding sat on my Grandad’s lap, funny how we have little memories. As I got older, I became more and more obsessed with the series and used to record the marathons on Living Tv (which is now known as Sky Living) through the VCR, and I found these recently.

I think it appealed to me because here were these amazing and successful women who happened to save the world every other week, but also managed to have time to go to college, have a career, go on dates and just be sisters.

in 2010, Zenescope Entertainment released the 9th Season of Charmed in a Comic Book format, so of course being the Charmed geek that I am, I had to buy them. I don’t normally read Comic Books, I started to with the W.I.T.C.H series, but I missed a few copies and I couldn’t get the swing of it back. I liked these because they came in Volumes which meant I didn’t miss any ‘episodes’.

Season 9 is set over four volumes and takes place eighteen months after the last episode. Its been a pretty quiet year and half for the Charmed Ones, Paige and Henry have twin girls, Phoebe is returning to work after the birth of her daughter, and Piper is trying to balance being a Mum of three and opening a restraunt all while their children are coming into their powers. Of course things can’t stay quiet for long, it isn’t too long before demons, Neena and Hogan, turns up to ruin the peace.

All in all I thought this was a nice way to carry on the story. Personally, I can’t get enough of Charmed so this is great for fans, like me, who aren’t quite ready to say goodbye to the characters we know and love. Its full of the things that made the TV series great, and I enjoy some of the flashbacks to previous episodes to show its part of the universe.

It take me a while to work out which sister was which is some scenes, but once I had worked it out it was a great and exciting read filled with just as many twists and turns as the tv series.

What are your thoughts?

