The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Bookclub – June

THE MONSTER GODDESS BOOK CLUB

So we are officially half way through the year, less than six months until Christmas! I can’t believe how fast June has gone, such a lot has happened it seemed to just get away from me. This month was the read a Fairy Tale with a Twist and as you may know, it was independent bookshop week last week and I ended up buying Faery Tales by Carol Ann Duffy, and when I started reading it, I just couldn’t but it down!

DSCN0280
Some of the stories were very, very odd to say the least and some very funny. My favourite ones were Beauty and Beast which had always been my favourite Disney movie and pantomime, so reading the original story was lovely for me. And I also liked the story of the Juniper Tree which was very weird and definitely not for the faint hearted. Duffy’s retelling style and Tomic Tomislav’s illustrations were a beautiful combination and though the book was quite expensive I would definitely recommend borrowing a copy from the library or getting a Kindle edition.

This I would give a 5 out of 5 because I didn’t have a bad word to say about this one.

Next month the Theme is a book with a stage adaptation so we are reading the Woman in Black, which I am really excited for!

As usual you can find our reading habits on our good reads accounts:

The Bookie Monsters

The Book Goddess

See you next month for our next meeting

Happy Reading

One thought on “The Monster Goddess Bookclub – June

  1. Pingback: Top Ten | Books of 2015 | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

