Review

Church of Marvels – Leslie Parry

DSCN0308_edited

Published: 4 June 2015

Publisher: Two Roads

Format: Hardback

Price: £16.99

ISBN: 9781473605626

This book was provided by Bookbridgr

When I saw this book on the Bookbridgr website, I was instantly hooked by the front cover. I’ve always loved vintage posters, and when it turned out it was set in a circus at the end of the 19th Century, I knew I just had to read it.

The story is of three very different people, all connected in some way. Sylvan, a night soiler who found a baby in a privy, Odile, a young woman in search of her sister lost in New York City, and Alphie, a married woman who wakes up in a mental asylum with no memory of how she got there. The main story of the novel is how these three people are intertwined.

Parry paints a very vivid picture of New York in 1895, from the circus performers in Coney Island, to the grotty, desolate asylum I actually thought I was there. The characters were all three dimensional, which is quite a feat when writing about so many characters and set in the past that could be in a different world and the story had as many twists and turns as New York itself. I loved the style of story telling, the story started from the first page and told the back story as the main story progressed, I thought this was very refreshing.

This was a really enjoyable and addicting read, and I devoured it in three days. I did have to reread a couple of moments where I think the exposition was a bit rushed, but apart from that I absolutely loved it.

I am rating this one four out of five!

Happy Reading

One thought on “Church of Marvels – Leslie Parry

  1. Pingback: Top Ten | Books of 2015 | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

