Review

My Summer Break Read List

Hi There

After a two weeks in Sunny France I’m back with a few reviews. Not as many from  my list that I would like, but as it turned out there was some pretty good books on my Kindle that I forgot I had. So without any further ado, on to the reviews!

DSCN0473 Usborne Puzzle Adventure Omnibus – Technically I haven’t finished the book, but I have finished a couple of the stories. I really enjoyed this, I did a couple with my Mom. You have to read one page at a time and work out how the characters did what they did, or what they were supposed to do in order to progress in the story. The clues are in the pages and further clues (in mirror writing) at the end of the story and the Solutions to the page are next to that. The stories are very cleverly written and when you finish the last puzzle of the story, you realise there were clues to what was going to happen all the way through! A definite recommendation if you want to relieve some boredom (maybe on a nine hour ferry ride!)

Rating: 5 out of 5 for funniness


cover66127-mediumStar Craving Mad by Elise A. Miller – This book was provided by NetGalley, which does not affect my view in anyway but it does contain some spoilers.This was a light and fluffy read perfect for holiday, no need to think about lots of different characters or complex storyline. Maddy is a first grade teacher at a very elite school for New York’s ‘Creme da la creme’, when Hollywood Royalty drop their daughter (Lola) off on the first day of school Maddy can hardly believe her eyes. When Lola breaks her arm, Maddy must bring her her school work and reteach her to write when her cast is off, and she can hardly believe her luck when she is asked to spend the Christmas break with Lola and her super attractive father.

Though the book was enjoyable for the most part and easy to read, a lot of it was quite far fetched. I just don’t think a teacher of young children learning to read and write would behave in such a way as the main character did. I understand that parents and teachers may have extra marital affairs but I don’t think a teacher would masturbate in a parents bed, no matter how attractive or famous they are. In fact I don’t think any one would unless it was there own.

Rating: 3 out of 5


DSCN0711The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult – Wow! Is all I can say. I’ve read a couple of Picoult’s books before but this is by far the most moving, imaginative and important book I’ve read of hers. Sage Singer, a baker struggling with severe social anxiety because of a scar that covers half of her face, befriends a fellow, albiet elderly, loner Josef Weber life becomes a little bit easier until Josef tells her a secret he has harboured for over fifty years and asks her to grant him two favours.

Josef Weber, a kindly elderly man, who in is middle age became a pillar of the community was in fact a Nazi SS Officer during World War Two. The reason he approached Sage, she comes from a Jewish family and he requires her forgiveness and her help for him to die.

I read this book in two days. I absolutely devoured it from start to finish and had a perpetual lump in my throat all the way through. I loved it so much I made my mother read this so I would have someone to talk about it with! If any of you have read it please please PLEASE leave a comment and let me know what you think and if you are up for a discussion of thoughts!

Rating: 5 out of 5


DSCN0472Remember Me Like This by Bret Anthony Johnston – Another gripping and powerful novel about what happens when a Kidnapped Child is returned to their family. Justin had been missing for four years when he is found at an indoor market, but things have moved on since he’s gone missing. His mother and Father are practically two separate units connected only by the matching rings on their fingers, and his brother Griff is no longer a nine year old boy who idolises his older brother.

I found this to be a really refreshing read as it is told from the family’s point of view rather than the point of view of Justin. In fact we don’t hear Justin’s thoughts at all throughout the book which was a very interesting way of writing this novel and I am pleased to have read it.

Rating: 4 out of  5

Published: 3 Feb. 2015

Publisher: Random House

Format: Paperback

Price: £17.99 (Hardback)

ISBN: 978-0812971880


I hope you enjoyed my reviews, books I started on Holiday include Numbers, Darkly Dreaming Dexter and Oh Dear Silvia by Dawn French.

If you have read any of the books mentioned in this post please a comment and let me know what you thought of them.

Happy Reading

One thought on “My Summer Break Read List

  1. Pingback: Review | Baby Doll by Hollie Overton | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

