The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Book Club – August

SavedPicture-201591154721.jpg

 

Another month, another book. This month, the theme was Beach Reading so the book we chose was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

Well this was a very strange read for me. It was a hard book to get into, but once I’d passed a certain point, I couldn’t put it down. I bought this book a while ago but held off from reading this until now. I knew we would be reading it as part of the book club, so I avoided the film, and other reviews like the plague since January. And I’m glad I did.

I cant really explain the plot without giving away spoilers. So I’ll try and explain the characters. There’s Nick, the anti hero accused of murdering his wife and adamant that he has nothing to do with it. Amy, his New York wife, trapped in the suburbs who is trying to revive their relationship, in a way.

Flynn had a clever technique of making both main characters characters unlikeable. They are both really annoying and many times I wanted to slap them round their faces and tell them to get a grip.

It was definitely a more adult book of the ones we have read this year so far, as the language and content was pretty vulgar, at parts I had to put the book down and walk away.

I’m rating this 4 out of 5 stars as the story was really good, if a bit disturbing, but the characters were just so annoying I couldn’t get on with either of them.

Join us next month when our theme is a diverse book so we have decided to read I’ll Give You The Sun.

As ever you can follow our progress on our goodreads page

The Bookie Monsters

The Book Goddess

So I hope you enjoyed reading Gone Girl with us. If you did read it I’d love to see your thoughts so leave a link to your post in the comments below.

Happy Reading

2 thoughts on “The Monster Goddess Book Club – August

  1. Pingback: Looking Through My Phone Photos | Curly Hair Lifestyle

  2. Pingback: Top Ten | Books of 2015 | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

