The Monster Goddess Book Club / Uncategorized

The Monster Goddess Book Club| The Help – Kathryn Stockett

Just one book left until the end of the year! And more importantly only three weeks until Christmas! Aha!

November’s theme was Read a book set before the 21st century, so we chose The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

WP_20151130_003

Enter a vanished and unjust world: Jackson Mississippi,1962. Where black maids raise white children, but aren’t trusted not to steal the silver…

There’s Aibileen, raising her seventeenth white child and nursing the hurt caused by her own son’s tragic death; Minny, whose coking is nearly as sassy as her tongue, and white Miss Skeeter, home from College, who wants to know why her beloved maid has disappeared….

This was perhaps one of the best books I had read this year! I absolutely loved it. It is definitely on par with The Book Thief, which is one of my favourite books.  The characters were all well developed, even ones that didn’t really feature very prominently. I can’t put my finger on my favourite character, as I love different parts of them. I liked Skeeter’s determination, Aibileen’s kind but fiery spirit, and Minny’s sass and humour.

I may not be able to tell my favourite character, but I can tell you my favourite part of the novel, which is the benefit when all the characters are thrown together and try as hard as they can not to interact with each other.

Parts of the novel gave me a lump in my throat and its hard to believe that this is set just fifty years ago, when we have come so far with equality, but like Tasha’s review I agree there is still so much we can learn from it as we still have quite a way to go.

 

I can’t wait to start next months book, Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe, which you can guess the theme for… A Christmas themed book!

 

You can find out how we are getting on next month on our Good Reads accounts:

The Bookie Monsters Goodreads

The Book Goddess’ Goodreads

You can also find The Bookie Monsters post here.

See you next month

One thought on “The Monster Goddess Book Club| The Help – Kathryn Stockett

  1. Pingback: Top Ten | Books of 2015 | The Book Goddess

What are your thoughts?

