Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

The Monster Goddess Book Club | December – Christmas Theme

I can’t believe its been a year since myself and the Bookie Monsters started this book club! I’ve really enjoyed reading along with my friend and the blogging comunity.

Our last theme of the year was to read a Christmassy book so we chose Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. I have read a few of hers before and have really enjoyed them. They are easy to read and you know they will tug on the heart strings but there is more often than not a happy ending.

  
That being said, this wasn’t my favourite Christmassy book. I much prefered the Rosie Hopkins’ christmas books, Christmas as Rosie Hopkins Sweetshop of Dreams and the Christmas Surprise. I have read the previous book, Meet Me at The Cupcake Cafe and that wasn’t one of my favourites either.

I liked Issy, she shared my enthusiasm for baking and especially Christmas, and she genuinely seems like a lovely person, but she really got on my nerves at some points. I think if we were friends I would have to have a break from her niceness some times, but id stat friends for the cakes.

The character of Darny really annoyed me, I felt he was rude. I got the impression he had a learning difficulty of some kind, but I didn’t feel it was explored enough and I just brushed him off and being a rude and petulant child. And from what I remember, when I was 11 years old, in my first year of secondary school, and most of the people my year were all too afraid to act up in class before Christmas, let alone get expelled.

So I was a bit disappointed with this book, but it was still a pleasant enough book to end the year with.

I am pleased to say that we will be carrying on the book club next year with some new themes and some familiar ones. Our first theme is New Year New Series so we are reading Red Rising.

Hope you can all join along with us, and as always you can follow our progress on our Goodreads accounts here.

The Bookie Monsters

The Book Goddess

See you all next year

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

