Review

Review | The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells – Virginia Macgregor

The first review of 2016! I know its late, but better late than never.

“If you love us, if we’re yours, fight to stay”

A few months ago, I reviewed a book called What Milo Saw, and I enjoyed it immensely, so when I received an email from the publishers through Netgalley offering me to read the authors latest book, there was no hesitation. I couldn’t turn it down.

cover78436-medium.png

Blurb:

One ordinary morning, Norah walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she walked away from only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah’s family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah’s husband and Norah’s youngest daughter calls Fay ‘Mummy’.

Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they each need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all – what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back?

 

The novel takes place over a week, and from everyone perspective which I found really good. Macgregor’s way with words is a very good one, and I love how she can differentiate between each character when writing.

I didn’t really have a favourite character, I definitely empathised with Fay though. I didn’t like how she practically gave up when Nora arrived home, I would have liked to have seen her stand up for herself and family rather than practically just stand aside.  I did like however, that everything did not return to normal once Nora arrived home, she really had to work with all of the characters in order to get her story across and I did enjoy that realism.

I really enjoyed this book, I loved the way it was written and I loved the characters. The only thing I would have liked to have seen is a proper show down between Fay, Norah and Adam.

It has definitely become one of my favourite books, and Virginia Macgregor, one of my favoruite authors, I can’t wait to read more from her!

Rating 4.8 out of 5!

 

Happy Reading

What are your thoughts?

