Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

MGBC | January 2016 – New Year New Series

THE MONSTER GODDESS BOOK CLUB

Well its the first Book Club meeting of the New Year! How did you all get on? What books did you read?

I chose Red Rising by Pierce Brown and I’m sad to say I didn’t manage to finish it or enjoy it.

15839976.jpg

I hope I will have more pleasure reading next months theme “Love is in the air. Read a romance”. Its not too late to join us, if you leave your interest and Goodreads account in the comments below and I will add you.

On to the Review!

Like I said before I didn’t really enjoy this book. The story was hard to follow, the characters were flat and hard to distinguish. I found myself having to keep going back to remind myself who was who. And the main character wound me up so much I just couldn’t enjoy it. I think my conversations with The Bookie Monsters sum up my thoughts on this book (there might be a few spoilers, but I only got through a quarter so there won’t be any real spoilers).

211111111111111

I didn’t like the main character, so I couldn’t identify with the book. The time and place contrasted with the language and I found it really hard to understand what they were saying. I think this is a book that needs perseverance and needs more than a month to read. I was disappointed with this book, so I hope I am not with next months.

I will see you later in the week for another post.

 

Happy Reading!

One thought on “MGBC | January 2016 – New Year New Series

  1. Pingback: The Monster Goddess Book Club 2016: January Review | The Bookie Monsters

What are your thoughts?

