Reading / Reading / Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC | Different World/Alternate Universe

I can’t believe we are half way through another year! Where has the time gone?! Please let it slow down, I don’t want to get any older. It already scares me that it is exactly five years ago today I left school! Isn’t that terrifying!

 

Speaking of time, I had a very tough time reading the Night Circus this month, because of the timeline (see what I did there?). It was definitely a very complex book and one you have to back and forth between chapters, but the story was great (when it got going) and the characters and setting were absolutely gorgeous! (Not to mention the cover!)

DSCN0283

I picked up this book in a bookshop crawl with Tash last year, and I am ashamed to say it has taken me this long to read it! I wish I had found it sooner, because it definitely is one I will be revisiting.  The story follows Celia and Marco who are playing a game with each other, even though they have never met or even know who each other are. They are bound to each other by this competition and the Night Circus, a mysterious circus which travels around the world with no destination in mind, just wherever the train stops. The Circus is very mysterious, it has been going for nearly fifteen years but no-one has aged, died or even born until one night when the lion-tamer’s wife delivers twins, and it is really here that the story starts.

The book is following two stories at the same time. The story of Celia and Marco, spanning from the ages of five and twenty eight, and also the story of Bailey and Poppet taking place mainly in 1902. It is not told consecutively, the story jumps on moment being in 1837 the next, it is 1900, and then to 1895, so unless you are used to reading books like this you may have to skip back a chapter to see when things are happening in relative to each other.

The first half of the book was quite slow, and I found I was finding it very hard to read but once it picked up it became very easy to get sucked into the magical world of the night circus. I am rating it 4.5 out of 5

 

For the end of the review, I will leave you with this:

“The Circus arrives with no Warning.”

Thanks to everyone who got involved this month. Next month the theme is to ‘Read a book you bought recently/picked up in a haul’ and I will be reading “I Am The Messenger” by Markus Zuzak, which I picked up on last years Independent Book Shop Crawl. If anyone would like to join us with this theme you can join our Goodreads group which is open for all (If you want to join you can do so here!) just let us know what you will be reading, and as ever you can follow our GoodReads accounts here:

The Bookie Monsters’ Goodreads

The Book Goddess’ Goodreads

I will post The Bookie Monsters link here when she has posted it up.

Reviews from other members of The Monster Goddess Book Club:

Leah – Horizon

Amy – The Winner’s Curse

 

One thought on “TMGBC | Different World/Alternate Universe

  1. Pingback: The Monster Goddess Book Club 2016: May Review | The Bookie Monsters

What are your thoughts?

