Books / Reading / Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC | Read a book you bought recently/picked up in a haul

Hi everyone and welcome to the sixth meeting of the Monster Goddess Book Club. We are now more than half way through the year! That is pretty scary! I hope you are all enjoying and will continue to follow us and join along.

Next month is Give a Book a Second chance. So you can pick a book you didn’t particularly like, or didn’t finish and give it another go. I will be reading the Bone Clocks by David Mitchell whereas Tash will be reading the Chimes by Anna Smail.  If anyone would like to join us with this theme you can join our Goodreads group which is open for all (If you want to join you can do so here!) just let us know what you will be reading, and as ever you can follow our GoodReads accounts here:

The Bookie Monsters

The Book Goddess

Last month was Read a book you bought recently/in a haul and my choice was I Am The Messenger by Marcus Zuzak. I first came across this author when I read the Book Thief two years ago and it changed my life. Anyone who knows me, knows how I rave about the Book Thief, it is so good and you can read my review of it here. I came across I Am The Messenger last year when Tash and I did the Independent Bookshop Crawl, and because of my love for The Book Thief, I decided to pick it up. The story is so completely different from the Book Thief that I had to remind myself that it was the same author.

 All I can say is, I don’t know how it sat on my shelf for so long without being read. I started it and was hooked from the first sentence. I fell deeply in love with the character of Ed that I’m really sad I had to finish the book and leave him behind. The story was really interesting, a coming of age novel with a definite twist that I have never even thought of myself, let alone read in another book. The chapters were really interesting two. The novel is set into five parts, Diamonds, Clubs, Spades, Hearts, and Joker, and each chapter is a card (and for you card geeks out there, the Ace is one in this scenario).


 

I am rating this 5 stars, because it was bloody brilliant and I absolutely loved the ending, and the rest of it but I especially liked the ending. Apparently there has been some controversy over the ending, some people love it and some people don’t get it.

 

If you’ve read it, what were your thoughts on the ending?

 

Other reviews

Heart Full of Ink: Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake

The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

What are your thoughts?

