Books / Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC | Give a Book Another Chance

Another month, another book. Sorry for being so late for this one! I’ve just got back from my first week back at work after being on holiday for three weeks, and I must admit, I’m so tired! But that is not excuse.

Anyway, welcome back to the Monster Goddess Book Club, Tash at the Bookie Monsters, and I ran this book club last year and didn’t have a lot of members, but we are both happy to say that we have had more bloggers join in this year! You don’t have to join in every month, so if a particular theme doesn’t appeal to you, that’s fine, just leave it and come back to us next month. We also don’t have a set book, we just have themes so if the book we are reading isn’t on your shelf, just find something that fits with the theme and read that. Its not to too late to join, which you can do here.

Last month the theme was to Give A Book a Second Chance, Tash and I chose different books, and we’ve had some other great choices on the thread too, which I enjoyed having a look through.

 

For August the theme is Read a Biography and again, we don’t have an official choice as we are reading different books. It’s not too late to sign up, and you can follow our progress on our Goodreads pages so you can keep up to date with our reading progress and connect with us.

 

The Bookie Monsters

 

The Book Goddess

 

On to the Review

the bone clocks.jpg

I had heard so much about this book when I ordered it, I was certain I would love it. I read the back and fell in love with the blurb, and I started to read. And I fell out of love quite hard. I put the book back on the shelf and kept meaning to pick it up, saying ‘I f I can get to a certain point everything will be worth it.’

I tried. I really tried to read it. I tried to like it. I don’t know what it was, but I just couldn’t get into it. I was reading the same page over and over again and it just wasn’t going in. I found myself getting bored as I read a page. I tried to pick the book up and trick myself into reading. I read ahead hoping to get into it and then go back and read what I’d missed, but ultimately I have no idea what the story was.

I thought the main character was quite boring; she did everything I expected her to in the beginning and that was frustrating. She was too predictable. It’s too predictable for a girl to run away from home, be rescued by a boy from school, get a backie from said boy to a church where some questionable acts were performed between some local men, and all the girl did was moan. Moan bout this boy who had helped her, moan that he wasn’t good looking like her boyfriend, who had just cheated on her with her best friend.

 

Maybe I need to give it another go when I’m in a better frame of mind and have the will power to power through, as I have heard many good things about it.

 

1.5 out of 5.

What are your thoughts?

