Books / Reading / Review / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC | Three Meetings

tumblr_nuw53rERjW1t79wrio2_500.gif

I’m sorry, Mrs Weasley. I’m sorry to everyone! I’ve been behind. I will go straight to the reviews I’ve missed and will update you on why I’m so late after so if you don’t want to know, you can skip that part.

So here we go

September – Read a Book with Autumnal Colours – How to Build a Girl, Caitlin Moran

9780091949013

Oh my God, I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this book. I really loved it! I have never read anything by Moran before, but I had seen Raised by Wolves which she wrote, and had heard very good things from my friends about her previous books. Coming from the midland’s myself, I really enjoyed the subtle little references to things near my home. It was really interesting as I live about fifteen miles from Wolverhampton where the book is set and it was so strange to see all the things I recognise from my childhood in a book. Most British books are either set in London, Bristol, or a made up village where everyone drinks tea and speaks in forced language, it was really refreshing to read a book set nearer to the England I know.

I absolutely loved the character of Johanna, I found her really funny and I definitely related to her. I would read this book on my lunch breaks, and I was giggling to myself, much to the annoyance of the other people in the canteen, but I couldn’t help myself. I enjoyed it so much that I had to give it to my work colleague immediately after finishing it, so I could discuss it with someone else. I found myself just wanting to talk about it to anyone who would listen, which at that time was just my work colleague and Tash! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is having a crisis of confidence and needs some tips on what NOT to do, or anyone who just needs a good laugh!

 

October – Read a Scary Book – 1984, George Orwell

1984-book9

Unfortunately I did not get to finish this one. I found it hard to get into, I started it and tried to persevere but I couldn’t manage to finish it. I think it was one you really have to focus on, and dedicate time to and unfortunately I didn’t get chance to do this as I had a lot on that particular month.

It is one I will try and revisit soon, hopefully when I get a bit more time to myself.

 

November – Read a Murder Mystery – Angels and Demons, Dan Brown

angels-and-demons

Well I made a booboo where this was concerned. I didn’t know that Angels and Demons was the first in the series, so I read the Da Vinci Code first! What a fool!

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book. I love these sorts of books that are like a treasure hunt, which sounds really horrible when it is a Murder, so I’ll change that. I love these sorts of books that are like riddles, you have to solve the first one before you can move on to the next, I also loved the fact that the novel all takes place over the course of one day/night. I love books like these as it keeps the story moving along at a good pace, there isn’t any need to fill any part of the plot as it is all happening. Dan Brown is so great at describing places that if I could, I would spend all my money visiting the places in his book and following Robert Langdon and seeing all the places in the books!

 

We have one more read for this year, which is read a Christmas book. We don’t have an official read for this month, Tash will be reading The Gift by Cecelia Ahern and I will be reading The Parisian Christmas Bake Off by Jenny Oliver.

Here are our Goodreads pages so you can keep up to date with our reading progress and connect with us!

The Bookie Monsters’ Goodreads

The Book Goddess’ Goodreads

 

So the reason I have been very behind on my blog these past few months is because I have started a new course late in September. So now, not only am I working full time, I’m also at class two nights a week which was a bit of a shock to the system initially but now I’m settling into the course, I’m managing to chill out about it now. I’m still doing some juggling around, and making plans and hopefully I will be able to find a system that works.

 

Thanks for being patient with me guys, I will find a way to make it work.

 

Happy Reading

One thought on “TMGBC | Three Meetings

  1. Pingback: The Monster Goddess Book Club 2016: November Review | The Bookie Monsters

What are your thoughts?

