Reading / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC | Read a Christmas Book

Hello everyone! Halleujah! A post on time! It must be the season!

I do hope everyone had a lovely Christmas and spent the time being jolly and bright, I personally spent the few weeks I had off work, Merry and a bit blurred around the edges as it should be.

51s8ZpJRQYL.jpg

So this month was the Christmas edition and we read separate books, Tash read The Gift by Cecelia Ahern, and I read The Parisian Christmas Bake-Off by Jenny Oliver. Now if you know me, and many of you should by now, there are two things that trump all others when it comes to my favourites, and those things are Christmas and Food. And this little book combined the two. I really, really enjoyed this read. It wasn’t a very long book, but it was just enough to get me into the Christmas Spirit, the characters were well formed, and the description of the food was absolutely amazing! I was getting hungry just reading it.

 

My favourite character was definitely Chef as he was just so funny and his abrupt and somewhat angry behaviour reminded me of my Granddad, which is always fun. I particularly enjoyed the ending as it doesn’t go the way you expect it, and I shall leave it there as I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone. If you’re looking for a quick read that will make you feel better after a rough day or week or month, then this is definitely the book for you. I mean the thing starts with rehearsals for a Primary School Nativity Play, have I not just sold you at that?!

 

I am also happy to announce that we will be continuing the book club into the New Year with the theme “New Year New Me” and the official choice read for this month is “A Mindfulness Guide for the Frazzled”.

If you want to join us on our third year of the book club, you can do so here! There’s no obligation to join in every month, so if one month does appeal to you more, you are very welcome to take part. You don’t even have to read our choice, just remember to leave a comment for which book you would like to read for the theme and leave a link to your review when it is published!

You can keep up to date and connect with us through our Goodreads Accounts which are listed below, and we look forward to seeing you in the discussions.

The Book Goddess’ Goodreads

The Bookie Monsters’ Goodreads

Happy Reading!

One thought on “TMGBC | Read a Christmas Book

  1. Pingback: The Monster Goddess Book Club 2016: December Review | The Bookie Monsters

What are your thoughts?

