Reading / The Monster Goddess Book Club

TMGBC| January 2017 | New Year, New Me

Happy New Year one and all, and how does it feel to be back a month in and a paycheck in! I for one was very happy when I saw the clock strike midnight on the 31st January!

If you want to join us on our third year of the book club, you can do so here! There’s no obligation to join in every month, so if one month does appeal to you more, you are very welcome to take part. You don’t even have to read our choice, just remember to leave a comment for which book you would like to read for the theme and leave a link to your review when it is published!

The theme for next month is “Read a book you got for Christmas”, it doesn’t necessarily have to be this Christmas just gone, just one from Christmas past. I will be reading Victoria by Daisy Goodwin, who wrote the recent series on Victoria, so I’m very much looking forward to that, gifted to me by the lovely Tash. Tash will be reading Death of a Ghost by Margery Allingham, gifted by me!

You can keep up to date and connect with us through our Goodreads Accounts which are listed below, and we look forward to seeing you in the discussions.

The Book Goddess’ Goodreads

The Bookie Monsters’ Goodreads

This month the Theme was New Year New Me and we decided to read a self-help book. The official choice was Mindfulness for the Frazzled by Ruby Wax, but other books chosen were: Looking at Mindfulness: 25 Ways to Live in the Moment Through Art by Christophe André, The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare (Alex Wayfare #1) by M.G. Buehrlen,  and Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life by C.S. Lewis!


On to the Review

cover

Well, I don’t usually read self-help books and I’ve never gone out of my way to actually buy one, so this was a first for me. I thought it was very apt, for me at the moment! I started reading and very much enjoyed it. I liked that it was written as more of a conversation than a lecture, which is what I find a lot of these books are about. I really liked Wax’s asides with stories and facts embedded in the book and found most of it quite funny.

Seeing as it was a Non-Fiction book without a story, I did find it hard to stay motivated reading it, but while I was reading it, I enjoyed it.

I think I will take most of the suggestions on board and maybe practise mindfulness more often.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?


Other Reviews from Club Members

Elliana

One thought on “TMGBC| January 2017 | New Year, New Me

What are your thoughts?

